Mojave

You said as I stared
“I think the colors of the desert sunset
are quickly becoming my favorite colors.”
Even at the tips of mountains, I am the
valley. I sit in the loudest silence and
the brightest dark and am left alone to
eat and breathe cold breeze.
It is the most overflowing pour
and lifting alone.
Speckled sky and twinkling sand.
freckled cheeks and tingling hands.
Wheels that would otherwise crunch
over volcano crumbles
sound like their own wind on our favorite
road.

Leave a Reply

